Reality Check

IMG_0098Sorry for the long hiatus from posting. As I moved into the end of the year, a lot of outside forces made keeping up the blog a little challenging. Nonetheless, there was still reading involved and more recommendations to make!

I have some friends that really enjoy reading post-apocalyptic fiction. It’s really not my cup of tea. I don’t like thinking about how the world will be after something wipes out most of the population and the remnants must fend for themselves in a wasteland.

That being said, I’m now starting to realize that I do enjoy this type of fiction when it is done well, such as in The Walking Dead.

But in this post, I would like to talk about Margaret Atwood’s novel Oryx and Crake, part of the Maddaddam Trilogy. I loved Atwood’s The Handmaiden’s Tale, but I was nervous about picking up this post-apocalyptic novel. My initial fears are that I’m already catapulted into an unknown world, filled with new terms that I only get to somewhat grasp by the middle of the book, only to feel the story has become so tedious that I cannot read to the end.

I don’t know how to exactly articulate it, but Atwood’s novel is a future dystopia in the form of a standard novel. I feel grounded even though I’m in a world with dangerous animals, strange native tribes, and a hazardous sun. As the novel progress, so do the back stories of how the world came to be this way. This made the story even more interesting to me–how did it get this way?

While I don’t want to spill the beans about the plot, the story does make me reflect on what we do now that can be seen as hurdling into a somewhat similar fate.

In sum, it was a really great read! I hope to move onto the other novels in the trilogy soon.

