Liebster Award

Liebster

The blog onlybooksandhorses has somehow found me and nominated me for a Liebster Award. Thanks fellow blogger!

The Liebster Award allows small blogs to connect to each other and promote each other’s work.

For nominees, the instructions are:

1. Link & Thank the blogger who nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you
3. Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers
4. Ask the 11 bloggers you nominated 11 questions and let them know you nominated them!

I made Book Hunger in order to record the books I’ve read and write down my thoughts on them. I haven’t been a strong blogger in terms of networking and connecting to many other bloggers. The rules for this award have gotten me much more involved in finding new and innovative blogs, so thanks for that!

My answers to the questions are as follows:

What was the last book that made you laugh?

There were moments while reading The Chronology of Water that I laughed out loud. Lidia Yuknavitch has a biting sense of humor, which I gravitate towards.

What amazing book do you think has a horrible cover?

I was honestly stumped by this question. The problem is that I really like book covers that are horribly bad. I think there are some older copies of Beowulf with some awesomely bad cover illustrations.

When did you start blogging?

I started this blog about 2 years ago in August 2012. Before that, I also had an ESL blog for a few years.

Do you have a favourite author (or authors)?

This is always a challenging question to answer since I have so many. To name a few, Charles Dickens, Salman Rushdie, Laura Munson, Lidia Yuknavitch, Haruki Murakami, Cheryl Strayed, Toni Morrison, Nadeem Aslam, Isabelle Allende, Dave Eggers, Alexandre Dumas, Jane Austen, Margaret Atwood, Elizabeth Strout.

What’s your favourite movie adaptation of a book?

Hands down, the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. It’s six hours long and stars young Colin Firth. If you love the novel, then you must make yourself watch this movie at some point in your life. I quote it with my cousins and aunts whenever I get a chance.

Is there a book that has changed your life, or the way you see the world?

For me, Lee Edelman’s No Future: Queer Theory and the Death Drive did that. I grew up thinking that I was supposed to want kids. Edelman’s book was more about the metaphor of the child. It’s hard to really go into in a short blog post, but it was the first time that I saw the whole rhetoric of procreating in a new way. After reading that book, I didn’t feel ashamed that I didn’t (and still don’t want kids). Now, I’m much more content with my choices.

I’ve also enjoyed books about places I know little about. I’ve been to India a few times, but I felt that Katherine Boo’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers threw me right into slum life in Mumbai.

Do you have a favourite genre to read?

I love to read memoirs. I think the journal Creative Nonfiction has a tagline that goes “you can’t make this stuff up!” I totally agree with that.

Opinion: should people bend covers and dog-ear pages?

I like to see someone’s dog-eared copy of a book. It shows me that person enjoyed that book enough to mark pages where he/she really enjoyed the writing.

It would be a whole other situation if I let someone borrow one of my books and then he/she returned it that way. My left eye would probably twitch for a while.

Where do you get most of your books?

I get all of my books through the Los Angeles Public Library. I think my fines are keeping the branches afloat.

What music (if any) do you listen to while you read?

I prefer silence while I’m reading. If I listen to anything, it’s instrumental music.

What book will you force upon your kids (whether your kids are hypothetical or real)?

I don’t think I’ll have kids, but I already do force some books on my expecting friends. I’ve given a complete collection of Winnie the Pooh and The Stinky Cheeseman and Other Fairly Stupid Tales.

 

Ok, so I nominate the following bloggers:

Athira from Reading on a Rainy Day

Elizabeth from FictionBitch

Kate from Walworth Sentiments

Sarah of Word Hits

eating the pages

Aarti of BookLust

Bethany of Subtle Melodrama Book Reviews

Josette from Books Love Me!

Jen of The Introverted Reader

Dana of Bookgirl Knitting

Anna and Ariana of Wandering Librarians

 

And here are my questions to the nominated bloggers:

What is one book quote that strongly resonates with you?

Where is your favorite place to read?

What creative writing journals (if any) do you read?

What is your favorite book that you were required to read in school? Think of book lists from English classes.

Who is one author that you find as overrated?

What is your blogging process? (By that I am asking how frequently you blog and how you keep yourself consistently posting new content).

Are there any online websites that you use to get book recommendations?

Do you prefer to read a book on a device (Kindle, iPad) or do you prefer holding the actual book?

What writer’s home would you want to visit?

What country are you inspired to visit based off of your readings?

If you find a book boring, would you stop reading in the middle or would you press on until the end?

