London Underground

London FallingMy book club decided on reading London Falling by Paul Cornell. Apparently, Cornell wrote some episodes of Dr. Who and I’m sorry to say that I’ve never seen the show, though I am fully aware of its large fan base.

This was definitely a story I wouldn’t have read if it wasn’t for my book club requiring it. If I had seen the summary on Amazon, I would have said “eh” and moved on. I’m glad the book club selected it because it was something completely different for me. In London, four people working in the police force encounter something that gives them a new perception of their city. Suddenly, they are able to see things other people can’t, an ability to sense the supernatural. Together, they have to learn to deal with this new view of London and face certain people who thrive in this realm.

The beginning felt like a jump into cold water; we are in the middle of an event and we’re not sure exactly what’s going on. I felt it took me a good 50 pages until I had a stronger footing on what was going on and that’s when things get even weirder!

Some lines felt a little silly to me, but there were some parts of the narrative that surprised me and made me unsure what would happen next. In other words, there were some interesting twists. In addition, items get tied together in ways I hadn’t expected.

I’m glad to have the opportunity to read something out of my comfort zone that gives me an appreciation for stories I’d normally avoid.

