Careful

20140125-130242.jpgI read Gillian Flynn novels when I need something I can get immersed into quickly. Many of her books are in production to be thrilling films starring academy award-winning actors.

But I hadn’t read Sharp Objects. Flynn relies on yet another female narrator in her early 30s. This time, the woman returns to Missouri to investigate two gruesome crimes were the victims were young girls.

While we’re in the sleepy town, the narrator, Camille, reluctantly stays with her wealthy-but-weird mother. As Camille investigates the murders that make locals keep their children inside, she’s sucked into the past in her childhood home.

It’s a fun, thrilling read, a story that’s hard to put down. I think I liked her other novels more, but if you have read Flynn’s other novels and need a fix, it’s a good one to read.

