Thriller

20130902-083015.jpgWife goes missing. Husband has a few secrets. I got a copy of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl for my flight to the midwest. I was absorbed for the whole trip.

Told through first hand accounts of the husband, Nick. and diary entries of the missing wife, Amy, Gone Girl paints a marriage falling apart. The economic crisis takes a toll on the couple, forcing them to leave New York City and move back to Nick’s sluggish hometown in Missouri. Fro. There on, things just get weirder and weirder.

I was impressed at how my feelings towards characters would oscillate while reading this novel. I had wanted to make my judgments and then stick with them, but new information would arise and make me uncertain about the truth. I was dying to get to the end!

For me, this was a fun thriller. There were a couple of twists that I didn’t expect, whic kept me wanting to read more. Check it out!

