Halloween Classics

While getting into the Halloween mood, I thought up a couple of books that are both literary and spooky.

Bram Stoker’s Dracula: Have you ever read this book? I mean, actually read this book? I finally did and I was surprised to find out that it’s written in an epistolary form, as letters from one person to another. The structure becomes a bit funny at times (Oh, someone is at the door! I must get it!) but I got sucked into the story.

Horace Walpole’s The Castle of Otranto: The book that started Gothic literature, there are some crazy and supernatural things happening in the castle…

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein: Once again, divorce yourself from all of the current cultural knowledge you have of the story and read this novel. It’s chilling.

Oscar Wilde’s The Portrait of Dorian Gray: A man gets to do whatever he wants while his picture ages? For me, reading the novel was chilling!
Any other books you’d recommend?

